Member Login
30 Day Challenge

Karen Hornbarger Testimonial

August 18th, 2018 | Testimonials
I was at my last straw of being sick and tired, feeling bloated, achy and not observing my bad habits.  I’m 66 and have been retired for 6 /12 months now with a 5’2” frame that was not dealing well at the consistent 131+ weight I’d been carrying. I asked Jesus for some guidance on a Sunday night and the next morning on Facebook I read about the Paleo Challenge. That Monday I started reading all about the plan and took a  leap of faith to just sign up!   For 5+ hours I read all about Paleo and got so excited while thanking God for new inspiration.

I practiced that week on my new diet path; using recipe ideas, organizing my pantry, doing Level One 3-minute Core exercises and incorporating at least a 13-minute early morning walk.
Receiving a phone call from a Paleo Secret Coach to round out my plan and getting tips and menus from Drs Chad and Brenda, bolstered me into my official start date on July 16, 2018.
Emails from Drs Chad and Brenda were always consistent with helpful and encouraging information. The workout plans that Brenda designed were cleverly set to slowly strengthen me and also helped my posture!  I never felt too discouraged because Chad’s messages helped me progress knowing that I would get better at each level!  ‘Do your best and keep it simple!’
On Tuesday, August 14 my 30th day, I weighed in at 123!  An 8+ lb weight loss!  This was huge for me and where I’d hoped to arrive!  My clothes fit better and left me not so self-conscious of my belly.
In review — My WHY for doing the Paleo 30 Day Challenge was to have a healthier lifestyle. So I don’t intend to stop here!  With all the hustle and bustle of life, Chad and Brenda brought moderation back into my life, breathing, caring for myself again and living so that I could look forward to the rest of my days with my guy; and, be an energetic Grandma for my new granddaughter due in January.
30 Day Challenge

Juli Handley Testimonial

August 7th, 2018 | Testimonials
Good morning, Drs. Chad & Brenda.
I have completed my first 30-day challenge, which just flew by.  I found it very easy to stay within the boundaries of the plan, with a few small exceptions.
I love the lemon morning drink, but the straight lemon was just too much every day.   I do better incorporating another fruit to it.   I blend and strain, then pour it back in the blender and add a fresh organic peach, strawberries, blueberries, or cherries and blend again.   It keeps it interesting and less intense for me.
I have been headed in this direction for a long time.   I gave up eating sugar many years ago, so that has not been a problem for me.   I just had to look for the hidden sugars in regular, non-dessert foods and was surprised at how prevalent it is.   I have also been mostly gluten-free for several years, so a lot of these changes were not new to me.   I knew what to do, but it was just a matter of deciding to do it consistently.
I had some carb cravings the first week and made some small rosemary crackers with almond & coconut flour and nibbled a couple of those when it got bad.   It didn’t take much, and most of that batch is still in the freezer!   I cleaned out all the processed food, keep a refrigerator full of fresh vegetables, make my own salad dressing and condiments, and found a meat market that sells grass-fed clean beef.   I even take a container of my own salad dressing and real butter with me when I go out to eat!   I also got rid of all my toxic Teflon cookware and went to ceramic and glass.  I see this as my new life, not a diet.
The only two cheats I have had during the month was going to eat Mexican food with my daughter-in-law.   It’s our favorite and a tradition in the family, but there is just not much on the menu that doesn’t contain something bad.  I stuck with carné guisada (which has a little flour in it) and guacamole.   The worst part was the corn tortilla chips!   Other than those two meals, I did well.
I lost 7 pounds overall which is a good start and safe rate, my brain fog has lifted, and my energy level has increased substantially.
My primary goal overall was to work on the inflammation and joint pain.   That is some better, but I am looking for more improvement.   I didn’t get to this point overnight, and realistically don’t expect it to be reversed overnight either.   It’s a healing process.   I have started drinking the collagen with bone broth, and have ordered the turmeric blend.   I am looking forward to seeing what those do for my joints!
Just FYI – I have fallen in love with roasted sweet potatoes.   Yesterday I tried some with macadamia nut oil instead of olive oil and just lightly sprinkled them with salt after roasting.   They were fabulous!!
Thanks for all your information and support.
30 Day Challenge

Michelle Smith Testimonial

August 5th, 2018 | Testimonials

Good Morning Chad and Brenda,

My name is Michelle from Corrales, NM and I am 55 years old. I just finished my 30-day challenge!!

I lost 10 pounds and was not 100% strict with my eating plan. I do plan to continue another 30 days in hopes to lose another 10 pounds.

I started this challenge to lose weight because my knees and feet were increasing in pain. I hated to squat down because I would have to push off my knees in order to stand back up again. once standing it took a few minutes for my knees to stop throbbing.

My feet were also constantly throbbing. Since starting this new way of eating, my knees have improved almost 100% and I don’t have to push off or hold on to anything to get up. Yay! My feet still ache, but not like they used to. My energy level, pride and feeling good has skyrocketed since starting the challenge.

Your emails were very helpful and inspiring.  I also founds the recipes were of great help.

Thank you very much for the continuous support, resources, and inspiration you gave me each day and I look forward to another 30-days!

Sincerely,
Michelle S, RN

==> Discover How You Can Transform Your Life In 30 Days

30 Day Challenge

Terry Bridges Testimonial

August 5th, 2018 | Testimonials, Uncategorized

Where is all began:

My name is Terry Bridges, I am 58 years old and I live in Pearland, Texas.

Before committing to this challenge I had done the no carb/low carb thing with varying degrees of success. In late 2015 I had a “Come to Jesus meeting” with my doctor who told me I was borderline diabetic and that if I didn’t take some drastic measures I would become a full blown diabetic. So, I immediately put my diet on “lockdown” and cut out all the bad stuff which I already KNEW I shouldn’t eat and my resolve was ironclad. My focus was on eating healthy, and by that, I mean reading the labels to see what the carb count was, not specifically on weight loss, and over the next 8 or 9 months I dropped 24 pounds, and I felt great, my energy level went back up, etc.

My doctor was pleased but said I needed to stick with it keep losing the weight. By this time it was summertime and, as humans tend to do, I began to give myself “treats” every so often, like once or twice a month, a candy bar here a bowl of ice cream there, and over the next 2 years, the “treats” gradually became once a week, then a couple of times a week until I gradually regained about half the weight I had been so diligent in losing.

Having lost my best friend, who I grew up with, to the ravages of diabetes, then my dad in June 2017, I had another “Come to Jesus meeting” with my doctor in January of 2018. He told me, he didn’t care HOW I lose the weight, but it is critical that I lose it. He explained how critical weight loss is to avoiding diabetes. I told my wife, in no uncertain terms, that I was going to take control of my health and diet and I wanted her to do it with me, but I was going to do it whether she participated or not.

Trying to avoid Einstein’s definition of insanity, l looked at what some of our friends had been doing with great results. One has lost a LOT of weight with the Keto lifestyle. But, another friend told us about the Paleo “diet” she’d been on for quite a while and how great it was. The word Paleo intrigued me, so I did some Googling just to get the gist of what it is and how it works. Then I found the 30-day challenge, or should I say IT found me.

I started watching the first video of Chad talking about Paleo, but I stopped right there because I wanted this to be a team effort and I wanted my wife and I to watch it together and commit to it together. It was about a month and a half before we finally sat down and watched that first introductory video, then probably another month before we decided to commit.

The 30 Day Challenge

My reasons for committing to the challenge were;

1. I wanted to change my paradigm and establish a new habit of eating. I wanted to reprogram my brain in the way I thought about food. I wanted to “eat to live” not “live to eat”. A new lifestyle, not just yet another way to drop weight which I would eventually regain.

2. By investing my hard earned money I would be more likely to “stick to it”.

3. I’ve read it takes 20-days of repeatedly doing any given thing to establish a “habit”, so a 30-day challenge seemed tailor-made for what I was trying to accomplish.

I signed up for the challenge on June 4, 2018. I committed to it and started taking action THAT day, not knowing the actual start date would be the following Monday. I weighed 231 pounds and by the actual Monday Start date, June 11th, I had already lost 2 pounds.

Each day my wife and I would read the emails, watch the videos and discuss that day’s subject. Our meals became more of a team effort to plan. We didn’t completely stop going out to eat, but we have cut down a lot and become VERY selective of WHERE we will go, only visiting those restaurants where we can get the foods which most closely conform to our new lifestyle.

We have followed, as closely as we could. Interestingly enough, my biggest challenge hasn’t been NOT eating the WRONG foods, but…now don’t laugh…CHEWING! I have always been a  fast eater. As some might say, I scarf my food down. I LOVE food. My wife has been trying to help me by reminding me to slow down and chew more thoroughly, but more times than not I’m over halfway done with my plate before she has time to say anything. So, in that area, I am a work in progress, and I am gradually catching myself sooner into the meal.

Another thing I have “battled” all my life is a sweet tooth. I don’t have cravings for sweets. So, NOT grabbing a candy bar at the checkout in the grocery store is not a matter of willpower, I just don’t have the desire for one.

Another thing about eating this way is I don’t get hungry between meals. If I eat two fried eggs and a half an avocado at 7 am for breakfast, I won’t eat lunch until at least 1 pm, and then I’m not “hungry”. I eat lunch so I don’t go so long that I DO get hungry. And, having eaten a Paleo-friendly lunch, I don’t have an afternoon crash at 3 pm or the desire for an afternoon cup of coffee!

I’ll tell you something else, I have been sleeping like a BABY! I go to bed between 10 and 11 at night, and I’ll be asleep within 10 – 15 minutes and I don’t wake up until 6 am. I set my alarm for 6 am to establish a new pattern there too, but after a few days, I’m waking up a few minutes before the alarm even goes off. Ummm…Well, I DO get up in the middle of the night sometimes to go to the restroom if I was late getting my daily quota of water completed, but then I’m right back to sleep until 6 am. And I’m talking restful sleep.

As for activity (exercise), I’m fairly active, though there IS  always room for improvement. I’ve been involved in Chinese Martial Arts for about 35 years. I teach Tai Chi and Kung Fu three days a week with the classes usually ranging from 1 ½ – 3 hours. While exercise is definitely a critical factor in being healthy, where weight loss is concerned it is NOT the thing to hang your hat on. As important as exercise is, a good workout can only burn a minimal amount of calories, ex; a mile walk will burn about 100 calories on average. There is no getting around changing your diet. And as I’ve discovered over this last 30 days, It is definitely NOT about the “how much”, but “WHAT” you eat that will cause you to lose weight.

I’ve been following Chad’s advice regarding portion size and not weighing the amount of food I put on my plate. This is day 30 and I weighed 220 pounds this morning. That’s only 11 pounds, but it IS 11 pounds and this is a journey, not a destination.  My plan is to keep sticking to this 30 challenge and gradually refining my daily life to more and more conforming to every aspect of the Paleo lifestyle.

This is a journey, not a destination and the videos are a HUGE help! Especially the one where Chad explains WHY after eating these processed, high carb foods, we get hungry again so soon and crave those same foods. How they affect brain chemistry so that it THINKS we’re starving when we really aren’t. It is the reason high carb foods are so insidiously addictive. That was a “V8” moment for me and really helped solidify my “reprogramming” effort in my way of thinking about different foods. Maybe I’m going a bit overboard but one of my goals is to reassociate food. Instead of my old way of looking at a particular food and thinking, “Oh boy that really looks delicious” to “boy, that’s a bunch of toxic ingredients masquerading as good food”, and from a diabetic standpoint “eating that will eventually kill me.” If that sounds radical, I’m sorry, but that’s why I signed up. I’m looking to make a radical change in direction, not just a fix for an immediate problem. None of us are promised tomorrow, and I don’t want to be guilty of the saying, “If I’d have known I was going to live this long, I would have taken better care of myself”, I’ve already gone far enough down that path.

I don’t know if this will be inspirational to anyone else, but writing this down has been a great exercise for me in really assessing this whole process and its effects on me.

==> Discover How You Can Transform Your Life In 30 Days

30 Day Challenge

Julie Sexton Testimonial

July 28th, 2018 | Testimonials

Thank you for the excellent support and encouragement through the 30-day challenge!

My goal was to get my gut healthy, reverse Fatty Liver Disease, get off of prescription drugs for Gerd, and to lose weight.  I can proudly say I started out with both your Probiotic along with a Krill oil supplement and followed the program precisely each and every day.

This resulted in an elimination of my digestive symptoms, eliminated the need for Gerd medication, and a weight loss of 21 pounds!  I will not know about the fatty liver until my next appointment with my Doctor, but I am confident the liver enzymes are greatly improved.

 I believe another key to my success was to follow your advice about exercise.  Going from an admitted “couch potato” to an active lifestyle.  I start by “waking up” my muscles first thing in the morning on my home exercise equipment, and follow through after work by walking my dogs, or bicycling before a nutrition-packed Paleo meal.

 I had been ending my day with “yellow milk” before bedtime.  However, I have had sleep issues so I am holding on the yellow milk to see if I can get better sleep results.

All in all, it has been and will be an excellent journey toward my complete transformation to a healthier, happier, and lighter me!  I can now look forward to an active retirement in 18 months!

Thank you so much for putting this program together.  I can’t wait to see what’s next . . . . . . .

Love,

Julie

==> Discover How You Can Transform Your Life In 30 Days

Ellen Jones Testimonial

July 28th, 2018 | Testimonials, Uncategorized
Hi Chad, 
 
I am beyond thrilled with the results of my 30-day challenge! Losing a total of 14 pounds and my joints (and all of the aches and pains I have been suffering from for years) feel better than they have in years.
Continuing on with my second 30-day challenge today because I have more weight to lose and not to mention I feel so much healthier! This challenge is so easy to follow and not difficult at all.
Always having a sweet tooth I have never gone a day without some type of cake, cookie, candy etc. I am most proud of the fact that I did not cheat, even once, during this 30-days, and feel like I can refrain from my unhealthy eating habits moving forward.
Excited to begin round number two and will keep you posted.
Thank you so much!
 
Sincerely,
Ellen Jones, 54
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
30 Day Challenge

Julie Sexton Testimonial

July 25th, 2018 | Testimonials, Uncategorized

Thank you for the excellent support and encouragement through the 30-day challenge!  My goal was to get my gut healthy, reverse Fatty Liver Disease, get off of prescription drugs for Gerd, and to lose weight.  I can proudly say I started out with both your Probiotic along with a Krill oil supplement and followed the program precisely each and every day.

This resulted in an elimination of my digestive symptoms, eliminated the need for Gerd medication, and a weight loss of 21 pounds!  I will not know about the fatty liver until my next appointment with my Doctor, but I am confident the liver enzymes are greatly improved.

I believe another key to my success was to follow your advice about exercise.  I have gone from an admitted “couch potatoe” to an active life style.  I start by “waking up” my muscles first thing in the morning on my home exercise equipment, and follow through after work by walking my dogs, or bicycling before a nutrition packed Paleo meal.

I had been ending my day with “yellow milk” before bed time.  However, I have had sleep issues so I am holding on the yellow milk to see if I can get better sleep results.

All in all, it has been and will be an excellent journey toward my complete transformation to a healthier, happier, and lighter me!

I can now look forward to an active retirement in 18 months!

Thank you so much for putting this program together.  I can’t wait to see what’s next . . . . . . . .

Love,

Julie

==> Discover How You Can Transform Your Life In 30 Days

30 Day Challenge

Louise Eggen Testimonial

July 20th, 2018 | Testimonials
I just completed my 30-day challenge and would strongly recommend this healthy way of eating to everyone! Not only was it the easiest food plan for me, but I am hopeful this will be my new way of eating for the rest of my life.
 I loved that I did not have to count calories or be so aware of portion control.  Because I didn’t have to be so aware, I was able to do as Chad suggested and stop eating when I was satisfied.  I love that suggestion.
Not knowing what to expect, I didn’t know how this challenge would work.  After all, eliminating grains, sugar, carbs, and dairy seemed like a difficult challenge.  I was amazed and found that it was much easier than I ever imagined. Never felt like I was on a diet, I love protein and vegetables so that was a real plus for this eating plan.  I also liked the reminder to eat a protein when I was hungry.  That is so much better than grabbing a bag of chips or a handful of something sweet.
This new lifestyle also challenged me to try new foods like kale and leeks.  It was a bit of a challenge to get meat that didn’t have so many additives, but I did the best I could.  I have lost 15-1/2 pounds and feel better already.
My skin has loved that I’m now drinking a lot of water every day.  It’s smoother than it ever has been.  I didn’t realize that I was so dehydrated since I drank a lot of tea, coffee, soda and yes, some water.  Now I usually fill my water bottle at least 4-5 times a day with lemon water and it is so refreshing.
Thanks too for the suggestions for meal plans.  That was a good way for me to get started with this plan since I love cooking.
30 Day Challenge

Daria Testimonial

July 20th, 2018 | Testimonials, Uncategorized

Hello.  My name is Daria and I live in Southern California.

I’m 54 years old.  I began the challenge because after eating vegan for 4 months my stomach and GI tract were a mess.  I was having pain using the bathroom and felt desperate for something to “fix” my plumbing (so to speak).

After watching Dr. Chad’s introductory video, I felt what he was explaining made sense.  I knew I couldn’t feel any worse, so I decided to take the challenge – not only to lose weight but to just feel better.

In the beginning, I was not intimidated by the cooking or the preparation, but I’ll admit it’s time-consuming.  Now I look forward to it!
I wasn’t able to entirely eliminate every item on the list but I think I did pretty well.  Over the 30 Day Challenge, I lost 11 pounds and I feel like a million bucks!  My stomach and plumbing problems went away after one week!
I’ve been up early every morning with energy for the entire day, sleep like a brick at night and I’m ready for the next day.  I have days when I want to snack but most days I feel good and full and don’t want to break my record.  You can do anything for 30 days!
I have lost weight all over and my clothes fit better!  I started at 207 pounds and now I’m 196.  My stomach is beginning to shrink and I plan to stay on the 30-day challenge another 30-days to see what will happen next!
Thank you, Dr. Chad and Dr. Brenda for your support, encouragement and common sense approach to better living.
Appreciatively,
Daria

Marilyn Corlett Testimonial

July 3rd, 2018 | Testimonials
I am Marilyn Corlett, 68, from Puyallup WA.
In December 2017, I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis.
I always believed that food could be your medicine and it is just a matter of finding the right food to unlock a disease. Choosing not to accept prescription medicine and asked to have 6 months to research what foods could eliminate the inflammation in my body.
I joined the YMCA and every Thursday for the past 6 months I would go to Costco and buy 2 pounds of both strawberries and blueberries that I eat weekly.
However, my lab work that monitored inflammation in my blood (SED rate and C-Reactive) was the LOWEST numbers I had seen in the past 20 years since it was being monitored and both were almost NORMAL! The 20-pound weight loss goal I set five months ago had still plateaued on the final two pounds I needed to lose.
I decided to try Paleo 30 Day Challenge. My son’s family have been paleo for 3 years, so I was familiar with the basics.
DRUM ROLE!!!… Today when I weighed in, I was down the 2.8 pounds that fulfilled my 20 lb goal from 6 months ago! But the BIGGEST surprise was…my waist was down 3.5″, bust down 2.5″ and my diaphragm was down 3.25″!
I gained 1.5″ in my thigh that is great because I walk an average of 20-30 miles per week and do muscle stretching and strengthening exercises at the YMCA.
In 3-days I will have my 6-month appointment with my Neurologist. The MRI I had two weeks ago revealed “no active or enhanced lesions.”  She was very supported of my wanting to have food be my medicine. In addition, I make turmeric-ginger root tea weekly. I have not even taken ibuprofen since January.
Above all, I am a strong woman of Faith and a prayer warrior. I truly believe that God has put my MS in remission and our Great Physician has led me along the way to find the Paleo 30-Day Challenge and guide me to a healthier life.
For years, I have always based on the foods I eat by asking  “Is it God made? or Man-Made?” Years ago I started by eliminating sugar, processed foods, and cow’s milk out of my diet years ago. It was cutting out the grains and legumes that helped me meet my goal! Thank you!
I will continue with Paleo way of life!
Marilyn Corlett
I also included my Dec 2017 picture when I was at 164 lbs and the pic I took today holding two 10 lbs of potatoes that represent the 20 lbs I lost overall!
God bless!
'